Recycling Council Members

It’s time that the Tribe moves into a more productive and positive light. This will work if we, the Tribal members, move out of the poverty mentality that holds many down. We, as Native people are equipped with the spirit of survival, as we have proven time and time again throughout history. Let’s take that a step further by believing in ourselves that we can accomplish much if we have our minds and hearts aligned for the good of all. We Natives need to realize that the only thing holding us back from achieving success in this life is ourselves. By changing our thoughts about our capacity to do better we all move forward. We cannot allow what our ancestors fought for die by living a life of divide and conquer and self-serving. We are better than that. We must be examples for that Seventh Generation that is ready to take the lead NOW.

I believe that by allowing politicians to be recycled from one election to the next one, we are hindering new faces and young people with the intellectual vigor and vision from playing important roles in the Nation’s government and development. It is time to hand over the torch to the Seventh Generation. One of the many ways council members can help the tribe is to mentor other citizens instead of running for council each election. If we don’t do something, these young people will be ill prepared for the task of leading our tribe after the recycled politicians are no more. Many may also not come back to the Nation because no one cared enough to mentor them to be our leaders of tomorrow. Many are losing their tribal identity.

I believe today we find ourselves stuck with leaders who have been recycled time and time again because they have become greedy, their desire for power and money have overcome their sense of loyalty to the Nation and all its people. We cannot continue recycling political figures at the exclusion of new younger faces. It may be hard for some to let go and let the Seventh Generation lead, but it is imperative to our survival as a strong, competent and independent Nation.

I find much to admire about some council members. Some are smart and work well with the other branches of our government and want to help Tribal members. But some should not run again. They have been in office too long. It’s time to give someone else a chance in this major position of influence and power. The names listed in RED are the current Incumbents or have been on the council in previously.

Creek District Tony Bell
Patrick Freeman Jr.
George Tiger
Muskogee District Joyce C. Deere (Incumbent)
Jessina Brown
Eddie LaGrone
McIntosh District Adam Jones III (Incumbent)
Tom O. Pickering
Okfuskee District Frank Coachman
Sandra Golden
Mitch Jack (Incumbent)
Travis Scott
Percy Dug Sharp
Okmulgee District James Jennings (Incumbent)
Carmin Tecumseh Williams
Grover D. Wind
Herod Anderson
Brenda Golden
Larissa Jack Melton
Cynthia Mae Tiger
Tulsa District

Cherrah Giles
Samuel S. Alexander
Lucian A. Tiger III (Incumbent)
Tukvpvtce District


David Jimboy
Mary J. Givens
Jeremiah Hobia
Edwin Marshall
Thomasene Yahola Osborn
Wagoner, Rogers and Mayes District Mark J. Randolph (Incumbent)
Timothy Jackson Jr.